top of page
Search

Life After Uganda


Reflections of 2015

As my first field season draws to a close, I can’t help but reflect on the events of this year, and what I hope to do in the future. I have big plans for this project, not least of which is to expand and improve engagement in multiple ways.  I had hoped to post blogs much more often, as well as include podcasts and webisodes of project progress. www.wildlifediscoveries.com Unfortunately, I was not able to keep up with those plans, as the logistics of setting up this research program were quite a lot to handle.  I also had some internet connectivity problems to sort out, which prevented me from transmitting pictures, audio, and other files for most of the time I was in Uganda.  Now I know what to expect, and how to work through some of the problems, so next season should operate more smoothly.  I know not to promise too much, but I can promise to improve on all facets.



I also have been thinking of the people I have met and worked with during the past four months.  People in Uganda have been overwhelmingly helpful, optimistic, and kind to me. www.uganda-wildlife-safaris.com

I could not have accomplished anything this year if it weren’t for the staff at Uganda Wildlife Safaris Mayanja River Camp.  I have had the good fortune to work with some amazing people, who have some of the most heart wrenching stories.


It is no secret that the history of Uganda has been full of violence, turmoil, and suffering – but Ugandans I met are caring, friendly, and inspirational to be around.  I know it sounds trite, but I can only hope that the future for Uganda includes more peace and prosperity.  Hopefully my research can contribute to that end. I am thankful to have had this opportunity, and to be heading home to see my husband, James.  He has been so supportive of me and my aspirations, and I will never be able to put into words what that truly means to me.  He has worked almost constantly behind the scenes, keeping the website operational, keeping me sane, and our household in order.  I think that we both deserve a vacation.

Now, my focus changes.  Compared to the workload in the field, I may have more work to do in Edmonton.  I have thousands of images to classify, preparations for my candidacy exam, and a class to teach in the fall semester. As Alberta creeps towards winter, it will become more difficult to look at pictures of the Mayanja River .  But that will just keep me looking forward to 2016, when I can return to Uganda

2 views0 comments
bottom of page